No, You Can’t Share Your Vita

No, You Can’t Share Your Vita

Sony previously got everyone’s hopes up with a misguided and misinformed remark about the Vita’s ability to handle more than more PSN account. Well, Sony has issued a correction.

A spokesperson originally reported that users would be able to switch back and forth between PSN accounts by simply swapping out the memory card. However, Sony has stepped in and in a report to Wired.com said that isn’t technically correct.

Sony confirmed that the PS Vita would be able to handle multiple accounts, just not at the same time. Users will have to reset their hadware to factory settings, deleting all of their data in the process. Only then will a different account be able to be used on that system.

“[The] PSN account is tied to the hardware and the memory card, not just the card,” a different Sony representative said in an e-mail, “which means that if a second person is using your Vita, it’s not just a case of switching out memory cards, it’s clearing out all of your saved data on the Vita itself when you do the factory reset.”

Although the Vita is touted as the all around portable gaming experience, equipped with multiple touch screens, full internet access, and the entirety of the PlayStation network tucked neatly in your pocket, it appears that it is in fact only meant to be played by one person and one person alone.

The PlayStation Vita is set to release in Japan this Saturday and in the US on February 22, 2012.

 

Comments are closed.